and other buddhist highlights of India
Buddha Book your Tour
Buddhist MonkBuddha
The Buddha preached Principles of Buddhism to the Sangha in The Dharma- The Four Noble Truths, The Noble Eightfold Path, Refuse in Three Jewels or Triratna and The Five Percepts in Principles Of Buddhism.
Buddhist Information Guide
Buddhist Destinations
Buddhist Caves in India
Ajanta Ellora is an India based government approved premium tours and travels agency,

Ajanta Caves  Ellora Caves
Junnar Caves  Kanheri Caves
Pandavleni Caves  Karla Caves

Buddhist Tour Packages
more tour packages

Home :: Buddhist Information Guide :: Principles of Buddhism

Principles of Buddhism

Buddhism, as mentioned earlier, is not a fixed set of beliefs that one needs to follow in its entirety. Buddhism is a non-theistic religion and an accumulation of philosophic ideas, that are a result of a prolonged experience. Buddhism means the 'teaching of the awakened one'. And truly so, this system of beliefs arouses and prepares one to respond wisely to the numerous adversities and situations that may arise in one's life. The religion does not force a person to follow the teachings. It lets people experience on their own and learn from their actions and deeds. Owing to a number of sects the emphasis may very, but the basic doctrines are common to a majority of schools and traditions of Buddhism.Buddhism Monk

The Four Noble Truths
The ancient Buddhist scriptures prove that the Four Noble Truths were announced by Lord Buddha himself. It was when he delivered his first sermon. The following words were spoken by Lord Buddha after he attained enlightenment. These four truths are the basic keys as to what materialistic life is all about. It lets one conceive the realities of worldly life closely.

¤ Suffering is universal.
¤ The cause of suffering is desire.
¤ Suffering can be eliminated.
¤ There is a path (the practice of Dhamma) leading to surcease of suffering.

The Noble Eightfold Path
The fourth part of the Four Noble Truths comprises of the Noble Eightfold Path. The eight keys lead to the surcease of suffering. These are the levels and stages through which the follower moves. The eightfold paths advises to abstain from unwholesome deeds, have control over the mind and attain wisdom.

¤ Right Speech
¤ Right Actions
¤ Right Livelihood
¤ Right Effort/ Exercise
¤ Right Mindfulness
¤ Right Concentration
¤ Right Thoughts
¤ Right Understanding

Refuge in Three Jewels
After one has accepted the Four Noble Truths and has embarked upon following the Noble Eightfold Path, one needs to take refuge in the Three Jewels or the Triratna. These Three Jewels serve as the basis for the religious practice.

The Buddha
Monk ChildrenThe Buddha meaning the 'Awakened One' is the title bestowed upon those who attain enlightenment as Lord Buddha did. Buddha can also be referred to as the wisdom that conceives reality in its true form.

The Dharma
Dharma refers to the teachings that Lord Buddha preached. It is an accumulation of the laws of nature (based on personal behaviour) and the consequences that follow.

The Sangha
According to the Buddhist teachings, the Sangha denotes either the community of Buddhist monastics or the group of people who have acquired at least the first stage of awakening.

The Five Percepts in Buddhism
The Buddhist system of belief has provided Five Percepts that are not presented in the form of commnads. Instead, these are the rules that assist to train oneself in order to lead a better life, full of happiness and free of worries. Following the rules, meditation becomes easy and can be performed well.

¤ To refrain from taking life
¤ To refrain from theft
¤ To refrain from lying
¤ To refrain from intoxicants
¤ To refrain from sexual misconduct

Buddha Statue
Ajanta Ellora Excursion
Hotel Room
Buddha Statue
Home    |    Profile    |    Contact    |    Feedback    |    Query    |    Hotel Reservation
Hotel Room
© All Rights Reserved